The belt ranks in Taekwon-Do are divided into 2 groups;

  • Colour Belts – Gup Grades
  • Black Belts – Dan Grades

Black belts start at 1st Dan and end at 9th Dan.

  • 1st, 2nd & 3rd Dan – Novice – (Assistant Instructor).
  • 4th, 5th & 6th Dan – Expert (International Instructor/Grading Examiner)
  • 7th & 8th Dan – Master
  • 9th Dan – Grandmaster


Signifies innocence, as that of a beginning student who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.


Signifies the Earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the Taekwon-Do foundation is being laid.


Signifies the plant’s growth as the Taekwon-Do skill begins to develop.


Signifies the Heaven, towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.


Signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.


Opposite of white, therefore, signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.